Paying it Forward

Wow.  More dysfunction from our elected legislators today.  I’m beginning to understand why fewer seek reelection or want to run for office in the first place. Years ago I had a friend who loved the word “messorama.” I’m thinking it’s an apt descriptor of today’s Congress and its wayward focus.

Ever wonder why many Americans are tuning out Washington, D.C.?

Thankfully, my confidence in humanity, even on a small scale, was kindled today. We’ve all heard the expression “random acts of kindness.”  Well, I experienced such an act.  At the grocery store this evening, the woman ahead of me gestured to checkout first. I only had a few items and didn’t mind waiting my turn.  She just smiled and said, “go ahead, it’s my treat.”

Call it “paying it forward,” karma or just plain old courtesy, her action lifted my spirits and brought a smile to my face. Her kindness reminded me that life is always working out for me.

I like understanding that things are always evolving, and while there are many things that could be better where I am, it is not really a problem because “where I am” is constantly changing to something better.  I like knowing that as long as I look for the best qualities in people around me, those experiences become more prevalent in my life.

When watching for it, I see evidence of random acts of kindness every day.

And they’re simple acts. People just going a little out of their way to say hello to a stranger; feeding someone who’s hungry; helping abandoned animals (think: rescue); or looking for people carrying things and simply holding the door for them.

You can make nearly anyone feel better. How are you going to pay it forward?

Leave a Reply

