Your Invaluable Emotions (Part II)

“Take control of your consistent emotions and begin to consciously and deliberately reshape your daily experience of life. ~Tony Robbins

Part I continued…

Similarly, without our emotions we wouldn’t be able to know when we are veering away from our wellbeing, or when we are about to do something that could cause ourselves or others suffering.

Try this quick exercise: Monitor how you are feeling and what event has happened just before that feeling. Once you have identified the feeling, you have three choices – accept that this is how it is and nothing you can do or say will change it; change your response to a more useful one or; get out of the situation. Analogous to using a GPS, these three choices are like: 1) telling your in-car navigation system – “yes I know that I am off the road to where I want to go, but that’s okay;” 2) listening to your in-car navigation system and taking the next left and right and left to get back on the desired track or; 3) asking for an alternate route from your GPS.

Equally easy, here are four steps you can take to start experiencing your emotions:

  1. Become aware of what you are feeling. Tune into the feeling brought on by the event. Then ask, what is your emotional guidance telling you?
  2. Acknowledge that guidance, however unwanted the feelings or thoughts you have about yourself or others.
  3. Accept that your guidance system has put this matter before you to correct.
  4. Appreciate yourself for understanding the emotion.

Fortunately, all emotions also come with a gift attached. That is, a personal reward for heeding the messages and taking the appropriate response, even with toxic emotions and finding a useful redirecting for them. In addition to the unraveling of long withheld energy, some gifts revealed through emotional release are:

  • Anger can yield Strength
  • Fear often begets Wisdom/Safety
  • Shame tends to render Humility
  • Pain transforms into Healing
  • Loneliness finds Connection
  • Joy becomes Hope

As you move through the range of emotions (or actually, as they move through you) and along your journey of understanding emotions, be kind to yourself. Try to not judge yourself for what you are feeling as they pass through. Emotions aren’t just energies moving through you. They are who you are. Honor and rely on them to give you the feedback you need to channel your thoughts and attention back to the joy and peace within which you want and are intended to live.

Which brings us full circle to the Part I opening quote.

6 thoughts on “Your Invaluable Emotions (Part II)

  1. Are you familiar with Peter Levine’s work. He has written a book called Waking the Tiger. He uses somatic experience as a way to release trauma in the body. I feel there are two paths here. One is the directions you are explaining and the other is the body trying to heal from a trauma. They don’t relate to one another. I have no idea if this is true or not. I just feel this is another language to me! Uggh! I spent so much of my childhood not being allowed to have my emotions. So here I am learning a new language.

    • Shakti, I am sorry that you feel conflicted. You need not. While I may be a bit biased, what I encourage you to consider is embracing your emotions. Co-exist with them and appreciate them for what they are and how they help to guide us. I am not familiar with Levine’s work. I do know that there are many who believe in their unique approach(es) to dealing with emotions. In the end, if you can find a way to keep the experience simple, I believe (and hope!) that you will continue to heal and grow in your emotions. You seem very willing to!

      • I get what you are asking. I am saying it’s hard. I tend to want to bolt. So in being with them, I end up releasing more stuff. It’s hard. I have found when I can do it and allow them to be there I stop resisting what is. I just have to build this muscle.

  2. Glad you “get” it. 🙂 Aren’t outcomes that are worthwhile often “hard?” How do you really feel about bolting? Good on you for resisting/releasing. Like that you refer to the process as building muscle. Get stronger! 🙂

  3. Hello Eric! I came over to your site after seeing your kind comment on my page, MadameStyx. I’m so glad you commented otherwise I would have never found you. Great information here. Hope to ‘see’ you more often. By the way, love your ABOUT photo!

    • Thank you. Found your blog by searching keyword “choice.” Glad I did. Look forward to following your candid posts. I’ve owned Labs my whole life. They’re as much a part of me as my values. Nearly inseparable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

