A Letter to a Friend

“A strong friendship doesn’t need daily conversation, doesn’t always need togetherness, as long as the relationship lives in the heart, true friends will never part.” ~ Unknown

Life whispers its meaning to us in the silence of the surrendered, open heart. It is there where I realize how much I value some friends. I find this silence compelling.

Sometimes it’s hard to come straight out and tell our friends how much we love and appreciate them. We might feel awkward expressing deep feelings, even to our nearest and dearest, because it’s not a common practice. We might get choked up and embarrassed in the process, or we might feel we will embarrass them.

Still, we all have those moments when we realize how fortunate we are to have the friend we have, and we may long to express our gratitude. Moreover, it may of tremendous benefit to our friends to be at the receiving end of our appreciation. At times like these, writing (yes, writing!) a letter can help us say what we want to say without feeling self-conscious. Additionally, a letter gives your friend the space to really take in your expression of love and the gift of being able to return to it time and time again.

As you sit down to write to your friend, take a moment to consider the qualities you most value in your friendship. It might be the fact that you always laugh when you talk or that you feel safe enough to confess your worst problems and always leave feeling better about everything. It might be the new ideas and experiences you’ve been exposed to throughout the course of your friendship. Whatever it is, really take the time to express to your friend their unique impact on your life. You don’t have to use big words or fancy metaphors; all you need to do is write from your heart and your friend will feel the love in your heart.

Letters, which used to be somewhat common, are now rare. A handwritten letter makes a wonderful gift to be treasured always. You might simply send it or hand deliver it out of the blue. Whatever you choose, your letter will no doubt be received and treasured with a grateful heart.

So, Gary and Jeff, while you don’t read this blog, I miss you. Know that my letter to you will soon be on its way.

And for those who read this blog, to whom is your letter going?

18 thoughts on “A Letter to a Friend

  1. Approaching the 30th year since our first encounter, this is a truth that sounds eternal…. Wonderful post Eric! And luckily our posts are still hand (typed) written, the medium has changed, not the intention.

    • We were mere “Babes in Toyland” or whatever the Japanese version of same was. 🙂 Thanks for your kind comments. You’d be on the short list of letter recipients if we hadn’t successfully kept our friendship thriving over the years. Ours is a connection that I am always warmed by, intrigued with, and very grateful to share!

  2. Have always preferred the written word…to me it seems that I do that much better than speaking because I tend to fumble, lose track and all that stuff.
    I haven’t written a letter in ages! It’s something that I might do…maybe to my sister, she’s been my best friend 🙂

  3. Use your gifts and work with what you find comfortable. Whatever way you choose to share, heartfelt expression is what’s important. You’re sister will cherish a letter from you, Shree.

  4. Just yesterday someone asked me whom I imagine is reading my blog. I confessed that the imaginary “other” is mostly family and friends. I also confessed that I sometimes censor myself because I don’t want to offend strangers and acquaintances who might read it. So, in the end, I suppose my letter, my blog, is to people who already know me and like me.

    Thanks for reading my blog. I’ll be interested to follow yours.

    • Intended for whomever, it is your thoughts and your time. I also used to censor myself. Done with those days. I communicate honestly, openly and hopefully – from my heart. How messages are filtered and received is not my job. I choose my words carefully and strive to be well-intentioned and/or constructive.

      I guess we each choose the degree to which we censor. And in the end, much of it is about the joy of writing and sharing.

      Here’s to your goals!

    • They are personal and lasting! That’s what, IMO, makes the time and effort to write one so valuable. I’m sure recipients of your letters while in Italy were so appreciated, Mary. 🙂

  5. Handwritten letters are divine…I keep many if not all I have ever received. I once attended a retreat where the retreatants were each surprised with packages of “palanca letters”, letters written by loved ones designed to “give lift, rise”…indeed very valuable to one’s spirit.

    • It seems, sadly that composing/crafting handwritten letters is leaning toward a dying art. Which for me, serve as a catalyst to do it more frequently. Even if it’s just a hey, how are you? note. To your thoughtful comment, it is so often a huge boost to the recipient. And if it’s been a long time and the letter is totally out of the blue, watch the emotions gush — on both sides. Appreciate your acknowledging one’s spirit!

      • Yes…there were a lot of tears at that retreat. And it was a girls’ high school retreat, and I was an “adult mentor”, although I look back now and realize I was intended to be just as much as a participant/receiver as the rest.

  6. I see the connection between my post today and this post you wrote some time ago. We do need to take more time to write real letters that express our appreciation for those around us. I have a letter written by a co-worker, whom I did not know before we were in the same class together, that I have kept and every once in awhile I go back and reread it to remember what I received that day…words that describe how they got to know me as part of the class assignment and who they saw me to be. A humbling experience.

Leave a Reply

