Life’s Shifts

“Life is pleasant. Death is peaceful. It’s the transition that’s troublesome.” ~ Isaac Asimov

Considering metamorphosis, we are more like butterflies than we typically think. We go through stages, we spread our wings, we soar, sometimes we get caught, and we evolve into something beautiful – if that’s what we choose. That’s a lot of similarities between we humans and the sentient being, Lepidoptera.

And sometimes a part of us must die before another part can come to life. Even though this is a natural and necessary part of our growth, it is often painful or, if we don’t realize what’s happening, confusing and disorienting. In fact, confusion and disorientation are often the messengers that tell us a shift is taking place within us. These shifts happen throughout the lives of all humans, as we move from infancy to childhood to adolescence and beyond. With each transition from one phase to another, we find ourselves saying goodbye to an old friend, the identity we formed in order to move through that particular time.

Sometimes we form these identities in relationships or jobs, and when we shift those areas of our life become unsettled. Usually, if we take the time to look into the changing surface of things, we will find that a shift is taking place within us. For example, we may go through one whole chapter of our lives creating a protective shell around ourselves because we need it in order to heal from some early trauma. One day though, we may find ourselves feeling confined and restless, wanting to move outside the shelter we needed for so long; the new part of ourselves cannot be born within the confines of the shell our old self needed to survive.

Feelings of joyousness or anguish might present as we say goodbye to part of ourselves that is dying and make way for a whole new identity. You’ve been there, haven’t you? We may find inspiration in working with the image of an animal or insect who molts or sheds in order for new skin, fur, or feathers to emerge. We can surrender to this process, letting go of our past self, and welcome the new with an open mind and heart, ready for our next phase of life. Or we can choose to not let go.

As you transition through life, here are three ways to cradle the changes:

  1. Let go of why. The answer to why isn’t always obvious. It can take months or even years to get the full perspective on why certain events happen in your life. Believing in ‘not knowing’ will relieve you of considerable apprehension. Sometimes it doesn’t matter why. It’s happening, so now what?
  2. Follow your intuition. Some transitions can’t be analyzed and thought out (I know, I’ve tried). The changes and shifts you are going through may be so subtle that you have to sit quietly and listen to what your instinct is telling you. Once you’ve analyzed, ad nauseam, turn the matter over to your heart. It knows what you want and where you are going before your brain does.
  3. Journal. Write it all down. Journaling is healing and helpful during transitions. When your emotions are shifting faster than you can keep up with, it’s good to be able to go back and read everything that you’ve gone through and what you’ve been thinking. It’s good to release your pent-up feelings on paper.

Keep the memories, choose to surrender, and move forward. You’ve done it before. 🙂

12 thoughts on “Life’s Shifts

      • Seems like you’re doing it to me. Wouldn’t it be great to make a powerful point in a blog with less words, more clarity and power. but then again, too short and Google/ search doesn’t like it. What’s a writer to do? 🙂

      • I think it would be a unique challenge to attempt a post, minimizing words but augmenting the message with poignant photos or images. It’s certainly doable. You up for it? (Acknowledging that it probably wouldn’t rank well in SEO.)

  1. Love it! I am constantly transitioning. And feel that more strongly now than ever before. I need to frequently remind myself of those first two steps. And the journaling is a terrific idea. I guess I am doing that now. And I agree it certainly helps. There are feelings and ideas you can explore on paper than you cannot fully explore through inner thought alone. Like I said, great post Eric, and thank you very much for it! I find it very relevant right now. It has helped. 🙂

  2. I found you from Shree and within seconds I felt at home here, so I have included you among my follows. I read your bio and am curious about your business. I have been drawn towards working with gifted children and young adults, but not many opportunities in my area. I hope to learn plenty here. You have created an oasis here.

    in lite, litebeing

  3. Three wonderful examples… Ones which I often refer to myself, keeping a journal for me is second nature as I jot down my thoughts even through the middle of a sleepless night. Living from our intuition is invaluable, and for me comes second nature, if it doesn’t feel right then ‘Don’t’ simple… Learning that ALL things in Life happen for a reason, the WHY me question I come across from so many. We are challenged to grow as we overcome our obstacles in life, the more challenges the stronger I grow, although to be honest I do enjoy my none-growth spurts of calm 🙂 It may not be until later we see WHY it was we needed that particular experience, but I have found life may not give you always what you want, but always it gives what we need…
    learning to live in the NOW moments instead of the past… for the past can not be changed neither do we know what tomorrow holds, so the only moment we live is in the Now.. And how many Miss really Living because the are so caught up with what went on in the past and worry over the future…. And wonder where time went?

    Lovely spending time here on your enlightening Blog
    Thank you for having me here, and for following Dreamwalker’s Sanctuary
    ~Sue

    • Agreed, hindsight can lend itself nicely to our learning experience. I. too. enjoy my non-growth spurts of calm. 🙂 It seems that you have wonderful awareness about your being and your environment. Applying both to the present moment is icing on your cake!

Leave a Reply

