Conflicting Advice

“First they ignore you, then they ridicule you, then they fight you, then you win.” ~ Mahatma Gandhi

There is one word and one expression that I have all but eliminated from my vocabulary: should and have to. In place of both I consciously insert or reference the word: choice or choose to. But that’s just me. 🙂 You may have words that you’ve elected to sidestep and in lieu, found another more suitable or comfortable way to express yourself.

When pausing to reconsider why I made these simple choices, I realized how filled our lives are with expectations of should or have to. And, therein, I also saw how often we are told what to do, how to behave, how to speak, and how to make decisions. Our own decisions!

As evidenced in my posts, what I do professionally, share via blog posts and in speaking engagements, is centric to what is posited in the following video. It captures the essence of how I feel about people and their right to be at choice. And to stand for what they believe and how they act, irrespective of what others think one is or does.

Perhaps you noticed the two gents in the opening photo… Yes, they are standing on their soap boxes. 🙂 It is neither my desire nor my intention to impose my thoughts on this matter. I’m (hopefully) merely creating awareness that many of us are:

  • growing
  • wanting to connect in meaningful ways
  • open to exploring possibilities
  • wanting to do more with our lives
  • living in needless fear
  • trying to do what they love to do
  • choosing to work on ourselves
  • letting go of results
  • excelling

My hope for you is that you choose to be who you are and love what you do. Now. And always.

20 thoughts on “Conflicting Advice

  1. This is BRILLIANT! I love this! After all these years I can honestly say I have chosen to be who I am and love what I do. Now. And ALWAYS!

  2. Pingback: Transitions | Awakening to Your Story

  3. I love the honesty and real world language in this video :-). Although I try to reframe ‘Should’ I notice an internal pressure which is should disguised as something else!

    It’s just something I’m working on…

Leave a Reply

