Money is the Root of…

“Money is like love; it kills slowly and painfully the one who withholds it, and enlivens the other who turns it on his fellow man.” ~ Kahlil Gibran

Did you finish this post title before you read it? I thought so. 🙂 That illustrates how conditioned we can be. But I digress…slightly.

Ponder, if you will, yourself surrounded by money. How do you feel about money? I invite the reflection because how we think and feel about money are two significant determinants of how much money we have and how easily we attract it.

It’s probably fair to say that most of us think of money as something we need, work for, and possess. We are taught that money is a necessary evil that we have to sacrifice to obtain and be smart about saving for the future. Thinking about money this way causes a lot of anxiety as we continually focus on how to get the money we perceive is missing and possibly scarce, yet necessary for our happiness. Nothing makes people less happy or un-healthy than thinking about and working for money.

Think about this: money comes to us and is utilized through a mindset about its value, purpose, and usefulness. Most of what we believe about money we learned from our parents and how they thought about and used money. This can be a challenging cycle of thinking to escape from, however it can be done using a more productive way of thinking and feeling about money.

First, become aware of how you now think and feel about money by finishing the following statements. Do not move to the end of the post until you complete the statements.

  • When I think about money and how I obtain it, I feel…
  • To have more money and especially enough money, I think I have to…
  • When I spend money it is usually to…

Look at the words and phrases you used to complete the statements. If the words are negative and fatalistic, the way you think about money is actually blocking it from coming to you. Your words and phrases lead to feelings of anxiety, disappointment, and frustration because your beliefs and feelings about money are grounded in fear and a view that money is scarce. Such feelings create low energy and lead to choices about getting and keeping money, rather than attracting, sharing, and exchanging it.

In part two of this post, I will offer a different way of thinking and feeling about money, including three tips to attract an abundance of money. In the meantime, consider paying attention to how money affects your wealth and health. Because in the latter case, it does!

16 thoughts on “Money is the Root of…

  1. Interesting post. My thoughts on money come from my parents (as you aptly mentioned). Growing up, my parents never had two nickels to rub together, but we were happy and never went hungry. For me, money was not first and foremost. It was love of family and faith. My parents worked hard to pay the bills, but that wasn’t the prime focus of life. If we had those two things (love and faith), everything else would fall into place. This is not to say that we never had money problems, or that (growing up and living on my own) that I never had angst about paying bills, etc., but the key was keeping the focus where it belonged – on the important things in life: having love, having a roof over your head, and having food in your stomach. The frills of life were never that important to us (the fancy car, the house that was larger than needed, etc). It was living by the two rules of life: (1) never sweat the small stuff; and (2) everything is small stuff. If we live by money, we will die by money; if we live by love, we will die by love. For me and what I learned by my parents, the important thing is to live by what’s most important to you. For me, it was all about love. 🙂 Life’s too short to be taken too seriously. Thanks for the post!

    • I love it when a reader articulates with clarity and simplicity, just as you have. Thank you for such a thoughtful comment. I could not agree more with you in that “…if we live by love, we will die by love.” There is little that rivals such authentic strength and conviction. Your perspectives are always welcome and appreciated!

  2. Eric, this post is spot-on. Virtually nobody learns about money at school so most people go through life replaying dysfunctional one liners they picked up from their parents such as ‘money equals power’ or ‘money equals love’. To eradicate these old tapes that guide our behavior we have, as you intimate, to reprogram ourselves with new, more positive messages.

  3. Pingback: What Money Are For? | On her way to perfection

  4. Great post, but I noticed one thing. When you do re-program your mind and having a burning desire for something, you just automatically want to take action. Desire makes you take action and you can’t just think about it.

    • I’m sorry, WLLMT, this comment was somehow buried. I’m usually timely with replies. 🙂 I hear and agree with you. Once you’ve latched onto a star – desire, anticipation, and inspiration are going to kick in and compel action. Thank you for reading and commenting!

  5. Another excellent article, Eric.

    I have usually thought of money as mere reward for giving away my time & effort. I haven’t enjoyed many of the jobs I’ve had! And money was necessary, therefore giving my time was necessary in these places I didn’t particularly enjoy being in.

    I do see money as something you need to let go of though, not hold in your fist but give/receive, let it flow.

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

