Two Requests from Eric

“Invisible threads are the strongest ties.” ~ Friedrich Nietzsche

This blogging experience is wildly fulfilling. The connections that have been created with readers and writers are gratifying and your thoughtful comments are equal parts warming and appreciated. To the above graphic, this is going horribly right. 🙂

In an earlier this evening conversation, a valued colleague made an interesting observation about the Awakening to Awareness blog. She sang its praises (and I know she would not have if she thought otherwise), yet she wondered if it wasn’t short on an important facet – that being me. She asked if there was an opportunity to infuse posts with more “personal examples,” as a way to more deeply engage or to connect with you on an even greater level. So I am inviting you to tell me what you think. If the posts stand on their own, as they have been written, please say so. If they need to reflect more of my experiences and thus, personalize a given topic, you are welcome to share your thoughts on that as well.

My second request, while for all readers, may be easier to answer for those who have followed this blog for a while. I’d like to know which one or two posts have resonated with or had the greatest impact for you? Even more meaningful feedback would be if you could share how the post affected or inspired you. If you’d prefer to communicate your thoughts privately, please feel free to email me.

The basis for my second question: I am writing a book and want to focus on blog topics that are most meaningful to others. As a savvy readership and thoughtful audience, I look to you to be comfortably open to providing (your) candid impressions.

From my heart, thank you for your willingness to share what you believe and how you feel about this blog.

44 thoughts on “Two Requests from Eric

  1. “I am writing a book and want to focus on blog topics that are most meaningful to others.”

    I write what interests me, confident that though my books might not be best sellers, they’ll touch some small segment of society. Even it it touches but one other person – that’s enough for me.

    My candid suggestion is – write that which touches you and surely, it’ll touch others.

    Peace,
    Eric Alagan

  2. I agree with Eric Alagan 😀
    You cannot go wrong with topics that touch you personally and if we go by what we’ve read here so far I have no doubt you already have your topics so get writing that book 😀

  3. I will just say for now (need to get to work this morning but wanted to respond) that the post about people having the ability to be assertive and not feel selfish was a favorite of mine. But so many others are helpful too. Encouragement and self confidence building are two topics I would read in a book 🙂

    • Thanks for sharing this, Brian. They happen to be two areas in which I love to inspire others. Ergo, they will find their way into the book. I hope there was a useful takeaway from the post about it being okay to be assertive.

      Have a fantastic weekend and I hope you’re seeing and feeling progress with the incredibly kind work that you’re doing in the tornado aftermath.

      • Thanks Eric! One day at a time here. The leaders of the City of Washington are doing an amazing job mobilizing such a large group of people and progress is being made. It’s a team effort in every sense of the phrase. So much resiliency shown by the residents and everyone. It’s been a real blessing to me to be able to be a part of it.

  4. I personally enjoy reading material that includes one’s own life experiences. I am a storyteller at heart and my blog is structured as such. Yet I recently shared that I am figuring out just how much detail to divulge. My sense is that you are leaning in this direction , to add your story to the mix!

    • Interestingly enough, I’m not leaning heavily in that direction. I am a comfortable storyteller and do so when I speak in public. But my desire with this blog is to not have it be too much about Eric. Rather, I am contented with sharing messages and suggested actions, provided they are of use/value to those who read the posts. I can appreciate both approaches with the blog and may experiment a bit with ‘a little more of me’ in some future posts. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, llb. 🙂

  5. Dear Eric:
    I would never be so foolish as to attempt to choose one topic you have written about above another.
    Each has had its own excellent merits.
    That being said, yes, to you being a bit more “personal” occasionally.
    It seems that on my Blog, as one example, readers respond so warmly, whenever anything is shared that is so.
    It seems to make a connection that goes beyond the computer and straight into the heart.
    And isn’t that always a really good place to be in any circumstance?

    • Thank you, Donna. I am keying on your word “occasionally.” I believe that might provide the balance I want with this blog. As shared above with lindalitebeing, I’m okay with sprinkling some posts with a bit more of Eric, so long as the focus remains on the core message/content. I so appreciate your honest and helpful feedback.

  6. Eric,

    Let me answer the second question first – this post, for me, certainly stands out. A genuine ask, one that I can relate to and share. Which posts do readers like the most? How can my words connect? What can I do to improve the impact of my words?

    For me, and my humble little blog, I often find that the posts I work the hardest on, or believe will have the most views/likes, often do not live up to the type of response that other posts I have written (with less, let’s say, attention to detail). My point is, I still get the most out of the posts I like to write, regardless of the type of response I receive from my readers (I know that isn’t the crux of your question, just an observation and an agreement with an earlier comment from Eric A). These posts generally tend to involve an element of my personal life – but that is just me, that’s how I write. There is always a part of us in our words.

    Anyhow, related to the first question, I must say that the reason I enjoy your posts is your pragmatic prose never reaches preaching. You are honest, insightful, and knowledgeable, and the way you write makes this reader feel like you care to share those qualities without judgment. That, to me, is very rare. And I say, keep doing what you are doing, and see where the fingers take you.

    Dominic

    P.S. I also liked the post about chocolate. I learned a lot and picked up a new habit.

    • Don’t think this weird, Dominic, but I twice read your comment and the second time I felt chills along my spine. Your words obviously struck a nerve, in a good way. I am humbled and honored by your remarks, to a measurable extent, because what you shared is exactly what is. I never wanted this blog to be preachy or telling. Rather, I intended to serve as a messenger, with useful, perhaps thought-provoking, and (hopefully) inspiring shares. And I get the sense that I am.

      Warm felt thanks for the validation. Your input has my fingers itching to do more. 🙂

      And for the record, I truly admire your writing. Your WP following is waiting in the wings.

      • That’s awesome, Eric. All I can say is that it’s all true! You are doing exactly what you set out to do, and that is amazing. I’m happy to be along for the ride, please keep it going! And thank you for your kind words – means a lot, just the feed I need to help my writing grow. It’s going to be a great end to the year!

  7. First Question: Personally, I like the posts the way they are. They have “an air of objectivity” (what a great title for a story!) and therefore come across as trustworthy and academic, yet simple, practical and reachable.

    On the second question, I agree with Dominic above, when he says there’s no telling how many and who will like what. For me, I can see no connection between numbers and the topic, the style, the day of the week, the tags, etc. There seems to be no logic in it.

    So in the end, if you shove every ingredient in the pantry in a bowl to make a cake because your guests have different tastes, you’ll end up with a horrible cake. If you bake a cake how you like, most will like it, some won’t. That reminds me: you must come over for tea sometime!

    • I am liking “an air of objectivity.” That’s just what I have been seeking to deliver. The other descriptors that you include are wonderful as well!

      For we who have tried to understand the WP statistics, you are spot on; there is little sense to the analytics, Bruce.

      Said smilingly, I’m a decent cook yet I rarely follow recipes and I never concoct anything the same way twice. I cook and bake just the way I like. If others don’t appreciate the effort, all the more for me to enjoy. I love your metaphor. Thank you!

  8. Eric – what a great post! And thanks for letting me offer my two cents (which are usually what my thoughts are worth, I might add). I think I have to agree with some of the other commenters (above). What you write should come from within you and should be written for you. I’ve experienced the same thing as Dominic. Whenever I write a post, and toil over it like I’m giving birth; like I’m fighting against nature to bring something into being and look at it in the end and think, “Geez, this one really sucks. No one is going to bother reading it!” – only to find out it becomes a favorite. Then on the other hand, I zip through with surprising connections of thought pouring through my fingers and produce the perfect blog post … which ends up going barely read.

    I’ve learned that, surprisingly enough, when we write for someone else, it has a tendency to fall on deaf ears. If you write for yourself, you will end up speaking to a great number of people in the truest voice possible, because you’re speaking (writing) from the heart. As you know, my blog is completely about what goes on in my life – every annoying detail, at times – but not everyone is comfortable in sharing personal things. Don’t feel you need to interject personal experiences into your writings if that’s not what you would feel comfortable doing. You seem to have quite a successful blend going already – why not stick with it and continue doing the marvelous work you have been doing?

    • Collectively (and to all of the above commenters), you guys are making my head swell. As one who has learned how to keep his ego-mind in check, I’m almost willing to let it bloat and gloat for a day. 🙂

      One of my favorite (and admired) professional speakers is Mark Brown. I attended an event last year at which he spoke (at length) about how our best stories and greatest connections with audiences are going to come from having successfully emerged from those darkest places within us.

      To your question, I will stick with it, even though I’m comfortable sharing more about me. However, by choice, this blog is not the forum in which to display my emotions, opinions, or personal experiences. Thanks, Bloke, for acknowledging I have quite a successful blend going. The compliment is huge and will keep me on course.

      And you know how much I enjoy reading “every annoying detail” of your life. 🙂

  9. I’d say it completely depends on what your purpose for blogging is. Some people are writing their diaries, others are doing pure self-promo. I’ve seen some sites which are purely dedicated to giving reviews to hundreds of books. My own “mission” with my blog is to share my own musings about writing with other writers. I don’t think that anything personal about me is either germane or of real interest to the readers. [I personally don’t want to read someone’s diary-blogs. These people are strangers, and I feel almost creepy seeing some of their entries.]

    Anyway, I’d say that once you define your blog-mission, you’ve answered your own question about its content.

    • A fan of clarity, I get and appreciate your perspective, Daniel. Thank you. I just happened to revise my business vision, purpose, and mission last week so your comment on “blog-mission” resonated clearly. Consider my question answered, due measurably to your and others’ feedback.

  10. interesting responses Eric, You touched a cord. I think maybe we all want more connection like I recently read somewhere. I personally would enjoy a little more personal flavor to your posts, and I like the tone of gentle advice and specific action steps like a good coach! I don’t remember the specific posts, but your posts on integrity and intuition call to me more. I’d like to see intuition explored more, but that’s a personal gap for me. Good luck with your book.

    • And in turn, you who have kindly commented have touched a chord with me. Initially conflicted about the extent to which I include more “personal flavor” to the posts, I’m listening to and trusting my intuition on this. And it is reminding me why I chose to blog in the first place (to Daniel’s mission intention above). While shared with others that I may experiment a bit, my sense is that I’ll likely stay the course and continue to focus on “the tone of gentle advice and specific action steps” to which you so nicely put it.

      To your interest, there will be more on intuition and integrity as they are big with me! Thanks always, Brad, for your comments and wishes for the book outcome.

  11. I like reading your posts and I nearly always agree with your advice, but I sometimes find myself wondering “How do you know?” I think this is what others are looking for when they ask for a personal connection. Your insights must be based on either experience or research, but we don’t see your journey. Only the destination you have reached.

    • Ahhh, the big decision and disclosure. Your observation is a good one. The insights shared on Awakening to Awareness are a blend of research and my personal experiences. I ‘get’ and like myself, the journey part of stories yet they also add to word count and with my posts typically averaging 500-600 words, I am already at the upper reaches of my self-imposed limits. In fact, I’m trying to find ways of sharing what I do in fewer words. Brevity and laconic are foreign to my writing style.

      Still, I receive and value the feedback that readers have shared. It’s ample fodder for future posts consideration. Thank you, Anne, for your thoughtful perspective.

  12. I agree with what Eric said. Write from your heart and what touches you and that will resonate with those who would benefit from it 🙂
    As for the posts, like Linda, I write from my perspective because I’m the student and participant in my journey…and if it helps just one person that would be awesome 🙂 Write how you love to write about topics you love or feel you want to share..then it will flow better.

    Ah…advice is so easy to give..I see things in there for me too..hehe

      • I am glad that there are “things” in there for you as well. 🙂 I am reading some common ‘threads’ from bloggers who have shared their thoughts. And each makes sense. Now it’s up to me to choose how and where to take my blog going forward. Thank you, Shree, for creating time to add your “advice.”

  13. Adding to the choir of those who call for writing from the heart, I enjoy reading the blogs written by those who who blend their experiences with their knowledge. It is the integration of these within us that taps the wisdom that we all have. I started following your blog because what you have written resonated intellectually with what I have learned. Storytelling is powerful medicine for writers and readers. Write on, fellow blogger….story on. 😉

    • Thanks for contributing your voice to the choir, Carrie. I know and cherish the importance of storytelling and I occasionally integrate it with posts. More than any one piece of reader feedback, I am warmed by this community’s constructive and supportive comments. Storying on, here. 🙂

    • Relieved here to know that you have escaped Biloxi and environs. 🙂 Thanks for offering to reflect and revert with your thoughts and possible, personal application. You do realize it’s going to take a while to emerge from that large, bordered land mass through which you and John are now traveling… 🙂

  14. I tend to agree with Anne:

    I sometimes find myself wondering “How do you know?” I think this is what others are looking for when they ask for a personal connection.

    When what you share mirrors my own experiences, I nod. When that isn’t the case, I have no basis to evaluate your opinion without knowing how you came to your conclusions.

    • How do we know? In some cases, we trust, we speculate, we appreciate, and some of us just don’t have to know all the background. As evidenced by the comments, there is a variety of thoughts – a smorgasbord of possibilities. If I were writing something academic or literary, I’d have more toward attribution or citation. With this blog, I could go with the facts, background and personal experiences to bolster the post yet that involves more time and space. I’m good with leaving things open ended and allowing each reader to interpret through their own unique lens. I do appreciate your and everyone else’s inputs. Thank you!

      • I almost didn’t comment on this post because your request seemed out of character for you:

        “So I am inviting you to tell me what you think. If the posts stand on their own, as they have been written, please say so. If they need to reflect more of my experiences and thus, personalize a given topic, you are welcome to share your thoughts on that as well.”

        As I anticipated, you’re “good with leaving things as they are” while allowing us to interpret your words through our own unique lens.

        Note to Self: Next time, go with your initial impulse. :mrgreen:

  15. A blog is a personal project, you infuse only that much of yourself as you wish to be out there. I’ve enjoyed your posts, but will not attempt to pick out which ones I consider best (that’s a personal critique). As far as a book goes – DON’T EVER WRITE FOR SOMEONE ELSE! You write because you need to – you have to – not to please others.

  16. Hi Eric, well it goes without saying (because you’ve read my blog) but I am gonna say it anyway (because I can’t help myself :-)) that I am a big fan of personal stories shared in order to help others, so for me, it’s a great big YES to ‘personalising’ your blog a little more. My favourite post so far, from the few I have read, is ‘Following Flow’ because it resonates with, er, my flow! Much love to you…. Matt 🙂

Leave a Reply

