You Know, We’re Different!

“Blessed is the generation in which the old listen to the young; and doubly blessed is the generation in which the young listen to the old.” ~ The Talmud

What prompted this post was actually my desire to share three amazing photo manipulations. Thinking about how to align these creative works with a message, I chose ‘learning styles’ as a common denominator. Well, loosely… work with me here. 🙂

In this post are three images by Swedish digital artist Erik Johansson, who now resides in Berlin. Johansson (with considerable technology aid) modifies his original photographs and the end results are, in my opinion, fascinating creations.

                             "Snow Cover"

Which brings us to learning styles. We’re a mixed bushel. Most of us are familiar with the three long-held learning modalities: visual, auditory and kinesthetic (tactile). These can occur independently or in combination; over time; and become integrated with age. Given these three, I’m a combination visual/auditory learner – which may help to account for my interest is Johansson’s stimulating work.

More recent research and studies yield a school of seven learning styles: visual, aural, verbal, physical, logical, social, and solitary (the latter two reflecting a preference for learning in/with teams or individually). So I dug a bit deeper, given this blog’s focus and learned that Baby Boomers prefer to learn in physically warm environments, lean toward a tactile style with body language being significant in the experience, and that they have a need for hands-on learning activities.

                          "End of Line"

“End of Line”

Given interest in cross-generational similarities and integration, I learned that Gen Xers prefer structured learning environments that are conducted in the evening. All sorts of interesting data ‘out there’ which is further varied when factored for gender preferences. Some summarized research and tips for communicating with and across generations can be read in this Colorado State University report.

                             "Cut and Fold"

“Cut and Fold”

It’s no surprise that each of us is a multi-faceted being. Style preference(s) is but one element of our learning experiences and what makes us different. If you are interested in viewing more of Johansson’s work, click here for his website. He also blogs from the same site.

Here’s to your learning styles!

With due respect to photographer’s who blog in the WordPress community (several of whom I follow), I recognize this as a variation on your art and profession. Your unique work is equally appreciated; often prized.

23 thoughts on “You Know, We’re Different!

  1. Hi Eric, While I realize you mention both our differences and our group tendencies, I’m feeling reactive to another seeming attempt to pigeon hole. That was a big part of my dissatisfaction with school (even though I excelled academically), and every training I’ve ever taken. A workshop on the 7 learning styles was the first and only time that my multifaceted nature was addressed. And in my opinion, much of the reason schools and teaching often fail is due to not addressing enough of the differences both as people and in our learning styles. Plus our schools overly focus on academics with little or no life skills taught.
    – cranky old muse Brad tonight!

    • I hear you and I think I agree with you, Brad, on nearly all counts. I’m just unsure what you’re specifically referencing when you say “…another seeming attempt to pigeon hole.” I sense we’re on the same page but I can’t quite see through your “crankiness.” 🙂

  2. This was quite interesting to me. I think I prefer solitary learning, with some one on one instruction. It just seems to work better for me.

    I’ve seen his work before, and am amazed at the creativity.

    • Knowing our preferences is important so that we can let others know as well. It makes for easier sharing, learning, and exchange. Glad you know what works well for you! Your comment is appreciated. 🙂

  3. Being a Baby Boomer I do love hands-on learning experience, dissecting parts to see cause and effect in just about anything AND I like warmth around me 😀
    Merry Christmas Eric and have a Wonderful New Year.

  4. Love the photos– very surreal, which I have a fondness for.
    I’m not sure what my learning style would be… perhaps solitary. I prefer to totally immerse myself in something, almost to the point of obsession, until I can master it. And I don’t like anyone around, haha. Hopefully that doesn’t mean anything too dark 😉

    • Johansson likens his work to a cross between Escher and Dali. I think that qualifies your “surreal” appreciation. Mine, too. As for learning styles, I know some prefer to not be typecast of compartmentalized, yet I hear you on the solitary side. Seems not too dark, to me. 🙂 Merry Christmas, Aussa!

    • Always good to have you stop by, Cedric. From what I can tell (and I visited Johansson’s website) it’s not so much the time it takes to create one of his manipulated images, it’s the graphic/digital tools knowledge that is required to yield the new images. Patience, I suspect, is key. 🙂 Warm Christmas wishes to you and your family.

  5. I’m part visual, part auditory, and I like solitude most of the time.
    To me, the world appears to be built on a wonderful symphony of sounds.
    When I was a child, I loved to sing into spider webs. When the strings of the web would vibrate, the spider would run around trying to locate and capture the source of the vibration….but it could not find me. 😉 I was dancing in the web and standing above the web at the same time—experiencing the sight from a sound perspective. Many years later, I am still this way.
    I think the photos posted above are fascinating—visions of a wonderfully creative imagination!

    • “…a wonderful symphony of sounds.” That is beautiful Mary. Thank you for sharing your experiences and perspectives. They are delightful! I appreciate your stopping by. All the best for a wondrous new year!

Leave a Reply

