Missed the Connections

“What if the only resolution you make was to love yourself more?”

~ Cheryl Richardson

Having written my last post on March 15th, I had no idea more than two months would pass before I returned to the blogosphere. This was not an intentional hiatus. It was, in hindsight, a valuable break.

I had the good sense to pause and realize I had stretched myself too thinly across several fronts. I found that I had agreed (with myself) to take on too many concurrent activities and commit to too many deliverables. Some were professionally related; others were personal initiatives. Yet each was worthwhile.

It was, however, time well spent. I did some traveling (which I love), rekindled in-person aΒ lifelong friendship, scrambled to fulfill my Awakening to Awareness radio show obligations, and created private time to deeply reflect and in doing so – realign with what really matters to me. I attended professional conferences, met and befriended some fascinating people, came very close to earning the privilege to travel to and speak in KualaΒ LumpurΒ and most importantly, regrounded myself. It was and is all good. It just required giving myself permission to revisit priorities and refresh clarity around my purpose.

I genuinely missed my WordPress community and the connections that have grown out of blogging. I missed reading your creative, inspiring and humorous words. Now I look forward to resuming our mutual sharing of amazing ideas and experiences though my contributions will flow more gradually.

I hope you who read this blog are well and thriving. It’s good to be returning. πŸ™‚

66 thoughts on “Missed the Connections

  1. Welcome back indeed. Missed you but understand the need to step back now and then. Glad it was refreshing for you. Looking forward to your words of wisdom that always come at just the right time.

  2. I think it’s a brave and valuable thing to occasionally cut the blogging umbilical cord. I should really do the same thing myself. Having said that, it’s lovely to have you back and all that… In future I won’t worry when you disappear, except I’ll probably miss the announcement of your demise thinking you’re having a blogging break!

    • I’m unsure it’s brave, Bruce but it was valuable! Appreciate your warm return greetings and I guess we’ll have to cross that “demise” bridge when is presents. πŸ™‚

  3. Woow it doesnt sound like a break afterall. But some busy time away well spent πŸ™‚ I’m glad its all good. And that I still got your update, I noticed that some blogs just disappear from my reader… Xox

  4. It’s good to know what you need, and even better to do those things. We all must refresh and prioritize at times. We must take care of our own needs to be of value to others. Looking forward to reading your posts.
    I’ve done a bit of the same…I post and read randomly now. I don’t beat myself up when I can’t fit it in…I just allow the universe to flow as it does!

  5. Welcome back Eric. I know that often a break or shift that intentional can be very satisfying rather than an “accident” or illness, etc that is brought on by imbalance or burnout.
    Happy you really enjoyed yourself as well πŸ™‚

  6. Great to see you back Eric! I reckon we all need to take a pause and restructure, pursue other things that matter too – glad to hear your time away from blogging was well spent!

  7. Eric, it is wonderful to see you back, and how exciting for you that your time out also allowed more growth of your own amazing awareness to open further.. I think sometimes we need time to reflect and ground ourselves.. Its been my own experience that when we may appear quieter, we give our selves more growing room..
    Lovely to see you back.. and I am so pleased to read the reasons of your absence.. and look forward to reading your posts in the future..
    Love and Blessings
    Sue xox

  8. Welcome back Eric! It’s nice to hear about your adventures. Like many here, I’ve missed your voice, words of wisdom, and mostly the connecting on both our blogs. I’m delighted that you had time to reflect and take a break from blogging. I’m tempted to take a break from the digital realm, but not sure how to pull it off since that is my main lifeline right now.

  9. Welcome back! I too have been away for some time. I have learned to be truly successful and fulfilled, we must accept the help of others and be willing to delegate tasks in order to focus on the ones that are most beneficial ourselves and others. I am glad for your return and look forward to more of your posts.

  10. Welcome back! I wondered what happened. I thought you had gone National with your Radio show and ran out of time. Too bad you didn’t make KL, my old home. 😦 Understand having to take a break from blogging. It can get overwhelming!

    • Actually, the radio show continues to grow an international audience but it is time consuming. I came microscopically close to an all-expense paid trip to speak in KL. Alas, it wasn’t meant to be (another story). Good to hear from you. Will you and John ever return home? πŸ™‚

  11. Connections are so important in ways that we sometimes take for granted. Your presence has been missed Eric! Welcome back in a fresh way that works for you!

    • Love me some “C” words: connection, choice, community, compassion, conversation, character. Each is significant individually as well as when interwoven. Thanks for the welcome back, Val. I appreciate your sentiment.

Leave a Reply

