Friendships & Relationships

                    Lauren Calcote & Dustin Simon

Lauren Calcote & Dustin Simon

“You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope some day you’ll join us. And the world will live as one.” ~ John Lennon

This past weekend, I was honored to bear witness to the binding of two lives. Their love for each other and their incredible zest for life is priceless. And for we who shared in their celebration, it was an equally memorable blessing.

In the bliss of their day, I reflected on three simple considerations:

  1. Value the people who are there. Sometimes we get so caught up looking for romantic love that we forget to appreciate the friends and family who are always there, offering their support. At least I did. You might be thinking that friendships aren’t the same as romantic affection, and I understand. But we don’t attract romantic love into our lives by focusing on what’s missing. We attract potential partners by radiating love. Take inventory of all the people who care. There are likely more than you realize.
  2. Have a sense of humor, some fun, and a bit of distraction in your life. You can’t spend all your free time “working” on your relationship – don’t make it a hobby. Discuss what you like to do, where you’d like to go, and how you’d both like to have fun. Then go do it. 🙂
  3. Listen and respond. This seems so simple, yet the act of listening with undivided attention is one of the things that sustains friendships and relationships. Just be with the one you love. Ask questions. Show genuine interest. When people fail to respond to each other’s bids for emotional connection, the results can be disastrous. Explore the value in positive exchanges.

My two cents, unsolicited.

33 thoughts on “Friendships & Relationships

    • Thanks for sharing your personal and interesting perspective ASA. When I thought about it, I sensed that many are quick to respond or share and don’t listen. They may have greater challenges than you. You’ve got the front end of the ‘equation’ addressed which is where many fall short. All the best with you choosing to focus on your responding.

  1. It’s true about being so gung-ho about finding “the one” that we forget the people around us who love us, just not in the way we hope to be loved. I went through a phase like that last year and it did not bear much fruit. I’m of a mind, right now, that if love comes, then it comes. If it doesn’t, then so be it. 🙂

  2. These are such wonderful nuggets of wisdom wrapped up in a nice succinct package with a bow on it. I think the one that hits home with me the most is the last. Listen and respond. Except, I might move the punctuation mark around a bit:

    Listen. Respond.

    Too often, I find myself listening with the intent to respond instead of really listening with empathy. A wonderful reminder, thank you for sharing.

    • Thanks, Dave. Yours in the first bow-topped expression a blogger has shared. I am appreciative.

      I concur with your punctuation shift. Often, minuscule changes yield new and worthy perspective.

      To your closing thought, I believe many of us find ourselves in similar situations. 🙂 It’s when we become aware of what’s happening that…

  3. My recent posts where on struggles in my marriage, from my perspective & my husbands. These 3 simple points are part of what we neglected that led to some of our issues & near destruction of our marriage. Thanks for sharing!

    • I’m sensing and believe I hear that you salvaged your marriage, Valerie. I’m glad you found what you needed to re-position (and strengthen?) your relationship. Perhaps the message shared in this post will be timely for others. Thank you for creating time to share your experience.

      • Yes, Eric, our marriage has been made stronger after overcoming some serious struggles. I, along with you, pray that this message reaches others who may need the same encouragement.

    • Any time we can turn things around or see them from enlightened angles is often going to lend to favorable choices. Many of us have personally ‘lived’ in the space of point #1. It’s not doom and gloom. 🙂 Thanks for adding your wisdom, Kimberly!

  4. Eric, I have broken through the barrier of resistance and made it to your blog after an immense absence! I appreciate the excellent example / metaphor for pursuing worthwhile relationships, relationships of substance. The idea that we have strong, safe, relationships …

  5. I really like your simple and beautiful truths written here…and it resonates with my own life journey discoveries…”positive attracts positive” would you agree…

Leave a Reply

