A Love Letter to my Adult Child

I don’t often reblog, however, this letter spoke to me. It could easily have been penned by my mother. We still don’t see eye to eye on some things yet our love and respect for each other only grows stronger. Thanks, EQ, for a beautiful post.

theempathyqueen

generations by gilad

You have chosen to live your life differently than I have chosen to live mine. I try to keep my door open to you whenever you want to walk through it. We have made, and continue to make, different choices. I did not want to choose sides. I thought that I could lean over and hold on to all of them…. I want to be a part of your life and hope that you will grow to love me and include me in yours. However much I think we are the same, there is still too much difference. I am grateful that you are happy, but your version of happiness does not look quite like mine.

Will we grow to understand each other more as you grow in years? Will you choose me willingly, or reluctantly, to be a part of your life?

With every fiber of my being, you…

View original post 397 more words

14 thoughts on “A Love Letter to my Adult Child

  1. Eric, I am very pleased you re-shared this post, As a child and adult my mother and I never did seem to have the Mother and Daughter bond.. Yet I know in our own ways we both tried.. Even though in my adult years her refusal to speak to me cut deep.. I tried to reach through her stubbornness, And sadly failed, Life is too short.. She passed away still not speaking to me, after a ten year silence, even though I met her in the town by accident/ or synchronicity design, 3 months before her passing, in a last effort I spoke she ran off in the opposite direction not wanting to communicate.. The Universe I feel gave her one last chance, she didn’t take it..
    I wrote many actual letters to my mother…. some I sent some I sent as Angel letters… I hope now she is at peace as I send her still my love..

    A touching post.. Thank you for sharing Eric

    • Sue, I cannot imagine how painful that separation was and my fear has always been will my family implode and will we stop communicating. I too wrote this letter and was unsure about whether to post it. Your letters were heard even if only in your own heart.

      • Bless you, yes I am certain she will have read my heart was always full of love, It was complexed story which started when I was a child.. Her final rejection was part of not the whole reason I ended up with a nervous breakdown in 1994. but as I have found all things in life. are meant to be and have their reasons.. It led me to move jobs which was also part of the stress..
        We do untold damage to our systems with our emotional bodies upon our physical ones. I also had a similar ride with my own daughter, whose teen blues were testing to say the least.. But she turned a huge corner and I am a very proud Mum of her achievements in life .. So I know well the tests we are experiencing…
        Being Empathic too, like we are holds us in a grip of often caring too much about others and not enough about ourselves..
        So with that thought in mind I hope you take care of you! too….
        Blessings for your beautiful response…
        Sue

  2. It isn’t easy letting go of our children, to let them spread their wings. To let them have different opinions and beliefs…but to always love them for who they are, that’s the important thing.

  3. Dear Angeline,

    Trying to love them all is what I always want/wanted to do. But I have a harder time meshing all the individual needs into a cohesive family at times. That is my great sorrow.

  4. Beautiful and emotional post, well written and full of the truth as it is today. I have enjoyed reading and empathize with the writer because I feel that way, very frequently. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

