New Media, New Possibilities

“I am interested in a phase we are entering. I call it “telelogical evolution,” evolution with purpose.” ~ Jonas Salk

What Dr. Salk was referring to was the idea of evolution by design, designing for the future, anticipating the future. My guest on this week’s Awakening to Awareness Radio Show is actively engaged in this transformational arena.

A 25-year on-air broadcast veteran in network news and public affairs reporting, Phyllis Haynes was one of the first women, and Black woman, to host a major market (New York City) show, as well as report on major issues for ABC Evening News and Good Morning America. Today, as an independent producer, she is devoted to helping unsung thought leaders, inventors, and creatives increase their exposure and understanding of how to use the New Media terrain to bring their work into the world.

Phyllis Haynes

Phyllis Haynes

On the show Phyllis spoke passionately about her love for the digital environment and why. She encouraged people to embrace New Media communication technologies because they’re free, easily accessible, their use contributes to mankind, and they enable all of us to strengthen our connections and benefit from a “collective dance.” She also talked about her current work in/with digital storytelling, her advocacy for Net Neutrality, and her interest in / independent project on vampires!

Phyllis’ bio and the show podcast are available here. Consider listening, peeking into tomorrow, and learning why New Media technologies can be valuable to you, too.

19 thoughts on “New Media, New Possibilities

  1. ” they enable all of us to strengthen our connections and benefit from a “collective dance.” ” I agree and believe that most of what I interact with on our still new media forums is this collective dance. It’s what draws me to it.

    • So Brad, rather than “wonder” — why not take action to see if in-person connections are more meaningful? Your time doing so and resultant findings might make for a very interesting study.

      Karmatube has some great messages, many of which are relevant to today’s digitally changing world. Thanks for sharing the message in this one.

  2. I have many friends who do podcasts and I quite like watching them. I’m amazed at how many people from around the world seem to connect to the same things. We really are getting smaller as the population gets bigger.

    • Which in my mind, Ger, yields the question: Does “getting smaller” suggest more homogenous? And if yes, is this a good direction/outcome?

      From my economics training days, I also wonder if “rational herd theory” behavior, specific to the ways in which we are connecting, adding depth and significance to the emerging, digital connections?

      Always probing, here.

      • Are you trying to make my brain explode this Sunday morning in Dubai?
        I’m torn on the good/bad thing, really. I know, nothing having a fence post firmly up there cause I’ve been sitting so long, but I really am torn about.
        It’s wonderful that we can explore new cultures, ideas, locations without having to leave the comfort of our own sofas. But it’s bad that we can also lose some of our identities and it is way too easy to spread fear, hate, and other things from your faceless computer.
        Yes, firmly torn.

      • So sorry. I hadn’t thought that you’d be awakening to my inquiries. 🙂 Torn seems fair to me. I regularly find ‘either/or’ positions preferential to absolute views. Yet, in my heart, I know how much I value face time, body language, tone, vocal variety, touch/feel, etc. Call me old school. And it wouldn’t be the first time as a friend not too long ago introduced me to another as “cave man.” Thomas Merton might just be proud. So, somewhat torn here, too. Enjoy your Sunday!

      • Vampires are awesome!

        True Blood, Anne Rice, Underworld — there’s a vast range in the genre.

        I read Dracula earlier this month. The way vampires were portrayed just a hundred years ago is so very different you can easily chart the change in culture:

        Vampires today are about youth, fame, life without consequences.

        An older writer picking up on those themes could mean she’s pining for what’s past, living vicariously, or actively doing — or she could have a new take on the genre. Either way, vampires rock, zombies suck.

      • I loved Stoker’s rendition. For me, there’s often a kindred connection with people, places and events in the historical and imaginative contexts.

        As is the case with many facets of change, the cultural shift you cite is both evident and worthy of exploring/considering, if not openly avowing.

        I’ve known Phyllis for four years. I’ll be interested to ask from where her interest emanates — when she returns from Croatia where next week she is privileged to present at the annual Transformational Leadership Council Conference.

        And I concur, zombies suck.

    • Please don’t sit in a corner. 😦 Yet, you are certainly not alone. I wouldn’t be surprised if comprehensive data/findings showed that a significant population finds their heads spinning, simply trying to keep up with the ever-changing technology environment — let alone deciding which platform/device/app to embrace.

      Consider the upside though… you are a marvelous culinary creator and that’s likely where your passion is aligned. Keep doing what you love and the rest will fall into place where it needs to be.

  3. So much of my life is now integrated into the web and technologies that not that long ago baffled me. I’m suddenly “in charge” of social media and web development in my workplace, and I’m not all that skilled myself, but I know more than others so I’m “it.” I think many of us are taking on the new media almost despite ourselves! I will look forward to hearing the podcast you’ve shared. I do find the topic fascinating. Thank you!

    • Good for you, Debra. I sense you are pleased with the opportunities to ‘step in the technology sphere,’ even if hesitant at the onset. 🙂 It’s good to be “it” as long as we’re enjoying the role/responsibilities, right? I find myself wanting to dis-embrace (is that a word?) some of the technology (hardware, software, social media platforms) that I’ve sort of acquiesced to in the last couple of years. I am finding some of it overwhelming, unnecessary, and counter-productive to things I’d rather be doing with my time and energy. Alas, I digress. Thanks for creating time to share your thoughts and for listening to Phyllis’s interview (via podcast). Would enjoy your feedback if the time avails.

Leave a Reply

