On A Verge

6046440678_d0b67a6518_m“We fear our intuitions because we fear the transformational power within our revelations.” ~ Carolyn Myss

It is documented that dogs have the ability to accurately sense five things: earthquakes, storms, illness, seizures and labor in pregnant women. Having read this I wonder whether dogs know they have these perceiving qualities?

Have you ever sensed you were/are on the verge of something big; something radically different or new? How did that sense make you feel? Invigorated, excited, hesitant, perhaps fearful? I pose these questions as I know I am on the verge of significant life changes. I sense this because I trust my intuition – that inner voice that just knows. This isn’t precognition, clairvoyance, psychic ability or impulse. It’s simply knowing that even in uncertainty, there is vision associated with a new direction and imminent change.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some people live for these moments. Others dread them. And there may be an indifferent lot as well. I’m one of the former. When my intuition strongly signals something, I know it’s right and the underlying choices often become strangely easy. It feels healthy; it feels good; it doesn’t feel like I’m forcing anything, there’s not a lot of conflict.

Of all the reasons for people to consider using their gut instincts to make big decisions, this may be the best: It frequently leads to choices and outcomes that are fulfilling; decisions that can improve the quality and trajectory of one’s life.

66002629_4a01d15bcc_m

If/when you feel you are on the verge of something life changing or perhaps less significant, here are three considerations that may help:

  1. Honor your intuition. Honoring your true self takes great courage. It may not be easy in the short-term to act on what you sense, but what price do you pay by not listening to it? Trust that nothing is revealed to you intuitively if it is not in your highest interest, even if that means making tough choices in your life. However intuition serves you, it is always in service of your well-being.
  2. Value time alone. As you travel the path of intuition, and leave behind aspects of yourself and life that no longer fit, you will need time to be with yourself to help stay grounded in your transition and transformation. Time alone will help to integrate new learning and provide guidance along your way. It will also support you to become comfortable without dependencies on other’s approval.
  3. Take in only what is nourishing. We frequently ignore our inner voice that is continuously providing guidance. We fear what it has to say. Listening to it might strengthen the courage for confrontation or challenge, or leave us with a sense of guilt for not doing so. It’s your voice! You have the ability to listen objectively and absorb what it’s saying compassionately.

5749192621_1a61946f21_m

94 thoughts on “On A Verge

  1. Hi Eric,
    I am pleased to hear you are on the verge. Leading with a quote from Carolyn Myss ain’t too shabby either πŸ™‚ I am not certain if intuition excludes precognition, but that’s not what matters at the end of the day. The key is to recognize the inner voice and silence certainly helps. Great read.

    • Thanks, Linda. I don’t disagree with your about the overlap between intuition and precognition. I simply wanted to make clear for people how clear intuition, on its own, can be and is. πŸ™‚ And I fully agree that heeding our inner voice and silence can be quite helpful. Wishing you a Merry Christmas!

  2. Eric exactly one year ago I left my job, trusting my gut that it was no longer the right path for me. It was a good job but it had become just a job. I trusted my sense that something was to present itself. I tried to be open to new possibilities. A new job found me. I love it and it is a perfect fit for this old nurse. πŸ™‚
    Wonderful to hear you are on the verge of a change. Best wishes in being open to the possibilities that await.

    • Appreciate the sharing of your personal experience, Sue. I suspect many people have traveled a path simliar to yours. Thank you for your being open to possibilties wishes. I always am and hope you remain so, too. Merry Christmas!

  3. Nice post. I know that feeling really well. For me I get excited…usually. There are times that I know it’s expansion and I want to run the other way. Either way I know I make it through. That’s what matters most I suppose.

  4. Definitely something I have come to welcome and feel more comfortable with as I’ve gotten older and feel less inclined to hurry life along and try to force its direction.

    • And how cool is not only welcoming intuitive capacity, but embracing and being confident in/with it! I wonder, Mimi, if we often pause long enough to acknowledge how blessed some of us become as we become more chronologically gifted? Glad you are growing more comfortable with not forcing life. Here’s to savoring it.

  5. I’ve learned that I ignore my intuition at my own peril. Especially when it comes to hiring. Sometimes there is nothing concrete to help make a decision but that niggling inner voice warning you “don’t do it” or urging “go ahead, it’ll be okay.” Good luck on whatever your intuition is sensing ahead of you, Eric.

    • Trust in our inner voice, as you share Barbara… it so often yields correct guidance… ever evident in hindsight. πŸ™‚ Thank you for your kind good luck wishes; I’m excited. Merry Christmas to you and your family, too.

  6. A very insightful post Eric. I am currently considering a big change – moving out of a retirement village into the wider community. It means a big financial penalty and I am not sure if the rewards are worth it. I will ponder your three points as I mull over my options. Thanks for sharing your wisdom and part of your life journey πŸ™‚

    • You have an exciting possibility to consider, Lorraine. I wish you clarity and comfort with whatever guidance your inner voice may be providing. Be sure to check in with your physical and emotional feelings too. πŸ™‚ You have a good season over which to mull. Enjoy your holidays.

  7. Hey Eric, excellent material and perspective! The only thing I would add that your third bullet could be a little misleading. Sometimes, people perceive that which is “nourishing” to be that which is comfortable, whereas your comments in the third bullet go in an entirely different direction, i.e. toward challenge or difficulty and that which invigorates. I wonder if “nourishing” is the right descriptor given the tendency to avoid the breakthrough material that is nonetheless disquieting. Regardless, well done! Ron

    • An excellent perspective, Ron. Thank you for sharing it. I will simply allow your insightful comment to couple with each readers thoughts/views — so as to enable individual interpretation, consideration, and application. πŸ™‚ Thanks for adding to this virtual exchange.

  8. Wow, Eric, this really hit home – with more emphasis than I even initially thought it would. I know that this is an opinion and potentially heavily biased, but this is the most stimulating and inspiring piece that I have read by you. The words you use, the advice you give is so spot on. I have long been a believer of intuition, and although I don’t always act upon it (even when I, perhaps, know I should), your insights have made it much easier for me to understand why that is the case as well as help me to follow my proverbial heart in those times when the quiet whispers from inside speak. I feel like that ladybug on the edge of the leaf in your photo – and you’ve helped to inch me one step closer to taking flight, thank you πŸ˜‰

    • “Follow my proverbial heart…” That sums it nicely from my perch, Dave. I suspect more than one reader felt kinship with that ladybug. I know I did. It is good to learn that the post’s message has helped you to taking one step closer to flight. What are we waiting for? πŸ™‚

  9. Eric, this is the 2nd post in 2 days I’ve read about trusting our instinct. Hmmm, wonder if I should be listening to a message in that? Excited for you being on the verge of something. As you know I’ve been feeling the same way but not quite there yet. Need to practice the 3 suggestions you pose along with some mindful soul searching. Thanks!

    • I like to believe Jer, that we within the blogging community sometimes serve as indirect, mutual encouragers. If a story or message speaks to me more than once, I also consider that as part of my inner voice reminding. πŸ™‚ I trust and hope your impending soul searching yields favorable guidance and possibly, outcomes. Merry Christmas!

  10. I always take something away from each of your posts. I love this one because the best things in my life have come to me as a direct result of trusting my intuition. I trust it, which is why I am not afraid now as it will lead me where I need to go. How exciting for you to be on the verge of something new, do keep us posted! Best, Karen

    • Here’s to individually and collectively trusting our intuition, Karen. I am glad that you have confidently shared your personal experience here so others might read it and be inclined to nurture their own intuition. Thank you for your thoughtful comment and wishes. I will keep our community posted. Wishing you a Merry Christmas!

  11. I live by my gut. I don’t think too long or hard but I do trust myself. However I also have a natural ability to duck and dive, which makes committing to my choice easier as I know i can move away from it if necessary.
    Interesting post.

    • Nor do I (think too long or hard), Tric. And I suspect others ‘operate’ similarly. Trusting our intuition so often makes committing to choices easier. Thanks for adding that important aspect. Warmest wishes for a joyous Christmas.

  12. I love this, Eric. I have recently taken on meditation and the exploration of mindfulness and your wise words fit right in. I wish you peace and happiness as you navigate this verge and intuition! ✨

    • Thanks, Maria. Brava! on your choice to explore meditation and mindfulness. They will likely result is some amazing insights and perspectives. Appreciate your finding value in the post. And thank you, too, for you warm and encouraging wishes. Much peace and joy throughout the imminent holidays.

  13. I am so glad I stumbled on to this blog. You have some really thought-provoking things to say which resonate at a very clear and simple level. Going through some major life changes at the moment, so your words have come at a great time!

  14. great points and tips Eric – and quick note on the dog info – wow! I did not know that – but also saw a lady on a documentary and I guess her dog sniffed out a cancer tumor – kept sniffing and she went and had it checked and then removed – man’s best friend is a gift. πŸ™‚

    πŸ’žβœŒπŸŽ„πŸŽ

  15. Loved this post, Eric! I’ve learned more and more to trust/follow my inner knowing. It’s funny how I once felt that my intuition had led me in a wrong direction on a big decision – only realize years later that the decision indeed was a great one. Amen to your advice as well!

    • I believe that doubting one’s intution early on is not uncommon. It’s often only after we gain in age, wisdom and awareness that its value becomes more more clear and appreciated. Thanks for sharing your personal experience. Others may be inspired to trust their intuition after having read about your learning. Wishing you a beautiful holiday season and an amazingly healthy new year.

  16. It does indeed take great courage and most times for me fear has held sway. Fear of what the people in my life would think, fear of being ridiculed, fear of being wrong and fear of being accused of shirking responsibility. I will try to practice “time alone” some more and hope that I can correct some of the wrong forks that I may have taken…

    • I believe it is both fair and accurate that many of us have traveled a path similar ot yours. And it serves little purpose to dwell on some of our wrong forks. Those forks are water under a bridge. Yet what I find encouraging is people who are open to practicing time alone and in that space, peacefully reflecting on what can still be. As long as we are blessed with breath, there are still amazing possibilities and opportunities for us. Warm wishes for a joy filled Christmas!

  17. I love your article, Eric! I know someone who only recently found himself on the verge of something big. A real turning point! With this knowledge came great excitement, but I also detected a slight anxiety, a tiny dose of fear. I will share your article with him. It might help him a lot.

  18. * How do we KNOW the unknowable? By tapping into our intuition . . . our sixth sense. When we circumvent reason and logic (and tell Ego to shut up), we tune into the Universal Internet and tap into β€œthe collective consciousness.”

    Or so say I. :mrgreen:

    Animals do it all the time: Dog is home alone. No distractions. It tunes into its owner’s mind and β€œsees” owner on the way home. It waits by the door, tail wagging. To read more, visit Colonialist: Pets Give Proof of Telepathy?

  19. Eric thank you as an artist stretching my boundaries and sharing my art this year I now need to push myself to go large and create the big dreams. Thank you for every positive inspiring post I have read this year. There is too much negativity in this world and so I find your writing space uniquely satisfying to read.

  20. Eric, this is so good. Themes of empowerment, reminding of truth. Good words, here: “It feels healthy; it feels good; it doesn’t feel like I’m forcing anything, there’s not a lot of conflict.” Lastly, have you ever looked at Malcom Gladwell’s book BLINK? Have a really great Christmas, Eric.

  21. I have read and appreciate Gladwell’s “Blink”, Tim. πŸ™‚ Thanks for enjoying the post and sharing your appreciation. Here’s to your encouraging others to tap into their inner voices. Best wishes for a peace filled and joyous Christmas season.

  22. Absolutely perfect intro ~ the title and that great photo, well done Eric! You mention instinct (“it doesn’t feel like I’m forcing anything, there’s not a lot of conflict”), and this is something I never really thought about being instinctual, but you are correct. In business & life, I have told people I work with that I never make decisions, rather decisions end up making themselves. Sometimes, when decisions have to be made rapidly, I may make mistakes, but never fret too much as I think by living well all paths (even mistakes) end up being a good path. When the moments come when I do force, the stress and worry zaps any fun/energy that may result. Another great, thoughtful post Eric. Wish you and your family the best during this final week of the year. Cheers!

  23. It surprises me a bit that you never really thought about being instinctual. Your writings, in my view, suggest otherwise. I ‘get’ the work environment where decisions seem to make themselves yet I believe each of us adds our own element of intuition to said process, even if/when we’re not consciously aware of that action. It’s simply the flip side of what you do recognize in moments of force, stress and worry. Perhaps you’ll grow more open to thinking about your intuition. πŸ™‚ Appreciate the sharing of your personal experience/perspective.

  24. I believe and intuit too, that the earth itself is going to go through a life altering change and that, we are part of that change — to bring a postive change for the good of all, if not, I believe humanity will perish, however, I believe in the goodness of humanity, that humans will save themselves and the earth… at a great cost though, one so great, no one will ever even dream of picking up a sword again.

    • I consider myself part of that change cadre. My to-date life experience, when coupled with acquired wisdom and heart, have been preparing me to contribute to “the goodness of humanity.”

      Compassionate action is my key core value. Aware of this (and it being a gift), I look forward to what I will be doing in the coming decades to not only salvage us, but to illuminate all that we are and can be. It is always good to know of like minds.

  25. I am this. I just follow my gut. I have learnt not to think too much and I just do. Let things be as they may, then I just follow along whatever forces out there wants to do πŸ™‚

  26. From your posts and comments, this blogger gets a sense of who Rommel is. And an untethered, free spirited guy is what often surfaces. πŸ™‚ Letting things be… a simple and often rewarding lifestyle. Onward with it. πŸ™‚

  27. Great read Eric. Intuition has for so long been stomped down in the name of science in our society to the point it has almost become taboo to talk about without being labelled. We need to begin enjoying and integrating our innate human abilities in an unbroken line, as much as the many members of indigenous societies have, throughout their histories. I am very glad I am aware of your blog now and look forward to reading more of your posts–thanks for following my blog πŸ™‚

    • Thanks much for your thoughtful comment, Trish. You speak and share considerable truth in these words. I am especially drawn to “We need to begin enjoying and integrating our innate human abilities…” whether such action is labeled as taboo or otherwise! Here’s to a collective nourishing of our intuition and our souls. πŸ™‚

  28. beautiful post eric, and so timely for me! πŸ™‚ i’m looking forward to following your journey and the changes ahead. many of us are going through major transformation and your insight and guidance is so appreciated. it’s easy to slip into fear but there is a much bigger and more beautiful vision unfolding. wishing you all the best for 2015 and beyond! aleya

    • Your kindness is matched by the joy you are presently experiencing in your life! Your comment is warm felt and appreciated, Aleya. Thank you. As for slipping into fear, I tend to look at that through a different lens. Fear is simply the ego mind insisting we not step into the unknown or a place of uncertainty. It cannot control what it does not know and it doesn’t like that prospect. This is, in part, why people ought to be encouraged people to do that very thing — step into what makes you uncomfortable and that you cannot see. So often, especially in hindsight, it yields amazing possibilities and outcomes. And I sense you are already experiencing some of this. So onward! πŸ™‚ All the best to you in the coming new year.

  29. Hi Eric,

    Two thank you’s: Thank you for your posts. I enjoy them. The world out there sometimes seem to be in a tailspin – and it remains for the positive doers and thinkers to keep moving it away from that. It is often said that beauty (and peace for that matter) is in the eye of the beholder. I think that it is also equally true that words often open the eyes of the beholder – to let beauty and peace in.

    A further thank you for following my posts. I consider it a privilege bestowed on me when people read my writings.

    Kind regards

    Kris Moller

    • Every now and then, unfortunately, a comment slips under the radar. I apologize for only seeing, reading and replying to your kind comment, Kris! Much peace and beauty returned your way… and all the best with your ongoing blogging endeavors.

  30. Pingback: Untethering | Eric Tonningsen's "Awakening to Awareness"

  31. Pingback: Adieu | Eric Tonningsen's "Awakening to Awareness"

Leave a Reply

