You ‘Can’ Let Go

Lately, I’ve read several posts wherein the subject of attachment versus detachment, and wanting to “let go” surface. I thought I’d share this older post.

Eric Tonningsen's Awakening to Awareness

“Anything I cannot transform into something marvelous, I let go.” ~ Anais Nin

Yesterday I wrote about trying different versus trying harder. Sometimes trying a different approach entails letting go; an action many of us have a hard time doing. Here’s a visual: Trying to maintain control in life is a bit like trying to maintain control on a roller coaster. The ride has its own logic and is going to go its own way, regardless of how tightly you grip the bar. There is a thrill and a power in simply surrendering to the ride and feeling the ups and downs of it, letting the curves take you rather than fighting them. When you fight the ride, resisting what’s happening at every turn, your whole being becomes tense and anxiety is your close companion. When you go with the ride, accepting what you cannot control, freedom and joy will…

View original post 360 more words

18 thoughts on “You ‘Can’ Let Go

  1. I feel as though all my life I have struggled to hold on to what I have, grasping tightly to maintain status quo. And you know what? Not much has changed over the years. Releasing the fear of the unknown and permitting myself to receive good things is a real paradigm shift. But it is already making a difference in my life in small ways. Thank you for your posts.

  2. I agree with you Eric. For me I have to stop to regain consciousness as my subconscious is often in the driving seat. My fear of failing to please others is another instintive hurdle that gets in the way.

    • Such a simple trick/action, Robert, to simply and intentionally pause. Once in that reflective space, it is easier to process what you are doing and why. I sense you know and value this. Thanks for sharing your personal and poignant experience.

  3. Thank you for your post. I love your phrase, “If we are connected to them they enrich the time we give to them. If we are attached to them, they drain our energy and can leave us disappointed.” Indeed, it is.

  4. This is a wonderful post. It was a tug of war between Mick and me – his need to feel in control and my wish to just go with the flow! Funny how that happens in couples.

    Well, I am now in a position (albeit unwillingly) to let it go and see where the Universe takes me.

Leave a Reply

